Bloom

BloomDoodle

With all my doodles and all my talk about blooming, you’d think I have a post on it. And yet I don’t. Until now, that is. If you’ve been reading my blog [and thank you SO much for that], you’ve probably read my post “Letting Go”. It’s about me answering God’s calling and, simply put, letting go of all insecurities.

Well, once you start to let go, you also start blooming. I’ve noticed that in my life. When I let go of my insecurities, I saw God beginning to work in my life. A few weeks ago I met with the worship leader at my church. I was so nervous. Like, I couldn’t breathe. But I knew that God wanted me to do it. And so I sang. And it wasn’t so bad. It was scary, but I knew in my heart I was answering God’s calling. And what do you know? I’m joining the worship team soon. I’m excited to see God work in my life. I’m excited to bloom.

You know, you’re turning into something amazing. Baby, you were born to bloom. No, I’m not quoting Moriah Peters. Yes, I am. But seriously. You were made to bloom. God did not make you for the sake of existing. God made you with a purpose. He made you with the purpose of glorifying His name. God made you to shine the light he gave you. God made you to bloom. God made you to be amazing. He has plans for you you can’t even fathom. He has made you for so much more than this. But you have to grow.

How do we grow?

  • Read your bible! In it you’ll find all the guidance you need. God says in Jeremiah 29 that he has plans for us, plans greater than those we’ve dreamed of. But you have to seek Him. And when you do, you will find Him. Your faith is a seed. You need to water it with God’s word and prayer for growth to happen.
  • Become involved in your church. If you know God has given you a gift, use it! Whether it’s leading worship, Children’s Ministry, art, playing an instrument, encouraging, helping others, cleaning-any talent- use it! You will bloom when you use what God has given you for His glory. (1 Corinthians 12:12-31)
  • Get out of the boat. You won’t grow, spiritually or otherwise, if you don’t get out of the boat. I know this one from experience. I spent many years of my life inside the boat. Once I stepped outside the boat [singing in public], I realized that there wasn’t anything to fear. Partly because I knew God was with me, but also because that is what He’s wanted me to do all along. Stepping out of the boat is not easy. Many don’t do it because they fear being uncomfortable. But that fear will make you miss out on the blessings God wants to rain over you. You won’t bloom if you don’t leave your comfort zone. You are made for more than where you are.

You’ve probably heard the parable of the farmer scattering seeds (Luke 8:4-15). The only seeds that bloomed were these:

“And the seeds that fell on the good soil represent honest, good-hearted people who hear God’s word, cling to it, and patiently produce a huge harvest.” (Luke 8:15)

The people who hear God’s word and apply it to their lives will be fruitful. They will bloom. Making your relationship with Christ the priority in your life will make you bloom. Listening to His word will make you bloom. Using your talents will make you bloom. God will take you and turn you into someone amazing. Put your trust, your dreams, your faith in Him and you will bloom. He made you to bloom. He made you to be so much more.

“Instead you thrill to God’s Word, you chew on Scripture day and night.
You’re a tree replanted in Eden, bearing fresh fruit every month,
Never dropping a leaf, always in blossom.”

(Psalm 1:2-3 MSG)

Bloom.

BloomWater

20140129-010347 p.m..jpg

Leave a Reply

